Verified individual course

Upcoming

Intensive Academic English Program

By Columbia University American Language Program · English · United States

A full-time academic English programme at Columbia's American Language Program in New York, with 18 hours of instruction per week covering grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation and the four skills.

First-party source checked2026-10-03 · verified first party

Course facts

What the official source states.

Provider
Columbia University American Language Program
Language
English
Destination
United States · New York
Campus
Not publicly specified
Delivery
In person
Course type
Intensive English · Academic English
Level
Eight levels, pre-intermediate (CEFR A2) to high advanced; beginners not accepted
Audience
Not publicly specified
Minimum age
Not publicly specified
Duration
Spring 2027 semester: January 19 – April 30, 2027
Weekly intensity
18 hours of instruction per week
Schedule
University-style schedule, at least one class every day, Monday–Friday between 9:00am and 6:00pm
Format
Group, team-taught
Maximum class size
16
Start pattern
Fall and Spring semesters; 4-week Summer sessions (A, B, C)
Enrolment deadline
Spring 2027: December 6
Tuition
11,064 USD tuition per Spring 2027 semester
Additional fees
Activity fee $104, instructional support fee $90, ALP student services fee $60, technology fee $36, health insurance $3,605, health & related services fee $759 and textbooks $150 are listed separately; tuition and fees are subject to Board of Trustee approval.
Accommodation
Not publicly specified
Visa-document support
Not publicly specified
Entry requirements
Applicants must be at least CEFR A2; applicants scoring below level 2 on the Oxford online placement exam are not admitted.
Placement test
Oxford online placement exam
Certificate
Not publicly specified
Application process
Not publicly specified

Editorial record

Research you can trace.

This record includes only fields supported by the linked first-party course source. Unavailable details remain explicit rather than estimated.

Reviewed by
FindLanguageCourses research desk
Last source check
2026-10-03
Primary source
Official course page ↗
See an error?
Submit a factual correction →

Evidence

Check the current details.

This profile records only information supported by linked first-party sources. Missing fields remain explicit rather than estimated.

Open official course source ↗Open official provider website ↗Report a correction →