Course facts
What the official source states.
- Provider
- University of Victoria English Language Centre
- Language
- English
- Destination
- Canada · Victoria
- Campus
- UVic campus
- Delivery
- In person
- Course type
- Intensive general/academic English
- Level
- Six class levels (100–600) including University Preparation; for upper-beginner learners and above
- Audience
- Not publicly specified
- Minimum age
- 18
- Duration
- 10–12 weeks (option to extend to 14 weeks)
- Weekly intensity
- 18 hours core classes + 4 hours specialized skills + up to 8 hours Learning Centre per week
- Schedule
- Morning (8:30 am–12:45 pm) or afternoon (1–5:15 pm) classes, Monday to Friday; next sessions Jan 4–Mar 31, 2027 and Apr 5–Jun 30, 2027
- Format
- Not publicly specified
- Maximum class size
- Not publicly specified
- Start pattern
- January, April and September (12 weeks); July (10 weeks)
- Enrolment deadline
- Not publicly specified
- Tuition
- 4,680 CAD per 12-week session (January/April/September program; July 10-week program CAD 3,900)
- Additional fees
- Application fee CAD 150; homestay application fee CAD 300; student services fee CAD 532 (health insurance, bus pass, gym pass)
- Accommodation
- Homestay CAD 1,350 per month, paid directly to host family
- Visa-document support
- Not publicly specified
- Entry requirements
- Be 18 by the program start date and have a basic knowledge of English
- Placement test
- Placed in a morning or afternoon class after ELC testing; free online ELC Basic English Test to check eligibility
- Certificate
- Certificate of Completion + Record of Grade
- Application process
- Not publicly specified