Course facts
What the official source states.
- Provider
- Columbia University American Language Program
- Language
- English
- Destination
- United States · New York
- Campus
- Columbia University School of Professional Studies, 203 Lewisohn Hall, 2970 Broadway
- Delivery
- In person
- Course type
- Part-time English · Academic writing
- Level
- Advanced (ALP level 7 or higher)
- Audience
- New York residents, Columbia students and Columbia employees whose first language is not English.
- Minimum age
- Not publicly specified
- Duration
- Spring 2027: January 19 – May 3 (morning section) or January 20 – May 3 (evening section)
- Weekly intensity
- Not publicly specified
- Schedule
- Mon/Tues/Thurs 9:10–11:25 a.m. ET, or Mon/Wed/Thurs 6:10–8:25 p.m.
- Format
- Not publicly specified
- Maximum class size
- Not publicly specified
- Start pattern
- Fall and spring semesters
- Enrolment deadline
- Spring 2027: December 13
- Tuition
- 5,532 USD tuition per semester (Spring 2027; 6 points at $922 per point)
- Additional fees
- Spring 2027: health insurance $3,323 (waiver possible with comparable U.S. insurance), Health & Related Services Fee $380, activity fee $100, instructional support fee $45, technology fee $35; estimated textbook cost $60.
- Accommodation
- Not publicly specified
- Visa-document support
- Part-time courses do not qualify students for an F-1 student visa.
- Entry requirements
- All new applicants must take the ALP online placement test and place into ALP level 7 or higher; MMR immunization required before registration.
- Placement test
- ALP online placement test required before admission.
- Certificate
- Not publicly specified
- Application process
- Not publicly specified