Verified individual course

Active

English for Academic Purposes

By UBC English Language Institute · English · Canada

An eight-week UBC Vancouver programme developing academic reading, writing, speaking and listening while introducing North American university classroom culture.

First-party source checked2026-10-02 · verified first party

Course facts

What the official source states.

Provider
UBC English Language Institute
Language
English
Destination
Canada · Vancouver
Campus
University of British Columbia Vancouver
Delivery
In person
Course type
Academic English · University preparation
Level
Intermediate to advanced; minimum CEFR B1
Audience
Adults and high-school graduates preparing for English-medium study
Minimum age
18
Duration
8 weeks per course
Weekly intensity
21 instructional hours per week
Schedule
Monday–Thursday, 08:30–14:45 with a lunch break
Format
Not publicly specified
Maximum class size
Not publicly specified
Start pattern
Six sessions per year
Enrolment deadline
Not publicly specified
Tuition
Not publicly specified
Additional fees
Textbooks are separate; the official page advises budgeting approximately CAD 150–300 per session.
Accommodation
Not publicly specified
Visa-document support
Not publicly specified
Entry requirements
Not publicly specified
Placement test
An online UBC ELI placement test determines the starting level.
Certificate
A certificate and transcript are issued for each completed course; eligible completion of EAP600 and EAP650 earns the Certificate of English Language.
Application process
Apply through UBC ELI after confirming the minimum English level and programme dates.

Editorial record

Research you can trace.

This record includes only fields supported by the linked first-party course source. Unavailable details remain explicit rather than estimated.

Reviewed by
FindLanguageCourses research desk
Last source check
2026-10-02
Primary source
Official course page ↗
See an error?
Submit a factual correction →

Evidence

Check the current details.

This profile records only information supported by linked first-party sources. Missing fields remain explicit rather than estimated.

Open official course source ↗Open official provider website ↗Report a correction →